Why making money in the stock market is as stressful than a missile attack (for me)

I made a ton of money in stock market in the past 7 weeks. I hated every minute of it. I found the stress very hard to take, particularly the anxiety and the inability to think of little else. As wives often do, my wife told me I’m nuts. “Don’t you remember how hard you worked for those neurosurgeons? This is the easiest money you’ve ever made”. I made probably more than half a year’s salary from them in absolute amount, and I was well paid.

But that was 25 years ago. For details see https://luysii.wordpress.com/2015/04/19/hilarys-stroke/. Yes, I was on every other night and probably was out between midnight and 8 AM every third night on call with a full day’s work to follow before sleep. It was physically demanding, but not particularly stressful mentally. “All you could lose was money, but in practice you could lose a life”. True, but I knew that I’d never make a mistake of omission, or commission or due to lack of knowledge (fairly arrogant but true, I really kept up with the literature in practice). Decisions didn’t always work out, initial diagnoses weren’t always correct, untoward reactions ensued (particularly to drugs), but I always knew that I given it my best shot. The stress came from doing everything right but still being unable to help, watching helplessly as patients deteriorated.

Thinking this over, after what my wife said, I realized that I was very much like a patient who really educated me.

Neurologists see headaches, lots of headaches. This young man came to see me about them, complete with his own (correct) diagnosis of their cause — a divorce in progress. Taking the history always starts things off, and a standard question is “When did the headaches start?” Oh, just after I got back from Riyadh. (This was during the Gulf War). Riyadh? Wasn’t there a missile attack that killed people while you were over there? Yes. Didn’t you have headaches then? No, but this divorce is killing me, doc. He was right.

So just like the shrinks say, it isn’t the situation itself, but how you perceive it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

